Interesting Things 26/02/2018

A miscellany of links I found interesting recently:

 

Buying hard work in: https://jandbvwebster.wordpress.com/2018/02/19/buying-hard-work-in/

Artists for Brexit: http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/artists-for-brexit/21132

Move along, there’s nothing to see – BBC’s whitewash of the Brendan Cox affair: https://www.conservativewoman.co.uk/move-along-theres-nothing-see-bbcs-whitewash-brendan-cox-affair/

Madsen Moment – BBC License Fee: https://youtu.be/h6DCX8ZNp6Q

The Forgotten Victims Of #Metoo: http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/the-forgotten-victims-of-metoo/21136

Stop This Corporate Bullying Of the Press: http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/stop-this-corporate-bullying-of-the-press/21130

Labour Needs To Drop Identity Politics: http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/labour-needs-to-drop-identity-politics/21129

Fathers Given Choice, Choose Wrongly: http://www.desertsun.co.uk/blog/?p=6686

We thoroughly approve of Westminster’s voluntary tax idea: https://www.adamsmith.org/blog/we-thoroughly-approve-of-westminsters-voluntary-tax-idea

The basic problem with foreign aid: https://www.adamsmith.org/blog/the-basic-problem-with-foreign-aid

You Can’t Measure the Financial Worth of Knowledge: http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/you-cant-measure-the-financial-worth-of-knowledge/21140

Corbyn’s thinly veiled threat to the press should worry us all: https://www.adamsmith.org/blog/corbyns-thinly-veiled-threat-to-the-press-should-worry-us-a

However:

Threats to free speech are nothing new in Britain: http://www.desertsun.co.uk/blog/?p=6731

And:

Corbyn shows his true colours by threatening the press: https://capx.co/corbyn-shows-his-true-colours-by-threatening-the-press/

Unregulated, Unaccountable Corporate Megacharities like Oxfam Are Not Fit for Purpose: https://semipartisansam.com/2018/02/17/oxfam-and-britains-other-unregulated-unaccountable-corporate-megacharities-are-not-fit-for-purpose/

Me Too Movement Confronts an Ancient Problem: https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-human-beast/201802/me-too-movement-confronts-ancient-problem

The Evergreen Meltdown: http://quillette.com/2018/02/22/the-evergreen-meltdown/

The Google Memo: A Counterfactual Response: http://quillette.com/2018/02/22/google-memo-counterfactual-response/

Identity politics: reviving racial thinking: http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/identity-politics-reviving-racial-thinking/21135

Welsh Labour isn’t Working:  https://capx.co/welsh-labour-isnt-working/

Space Travel Is Patriarchy And Therefore Bad: http://davidthompson.typepad.com/davidthompson/2018/02/space-travel-is-patriarchy-and-therefore-bad.html (As with most posts at this must-read blog there is much joy to be had from the comments)

Reality TV Gets a Dose of Reality: http://www.longrider.co.uk/blog/2018/02/22/reality-tv-gets-a-dose-of-reality/

Here’s that pesky environmental Kuznets Curve again: https://www.adamsmith.org/blog/heres-that-pesky-environmental-kuznets-curve-again

How #MeToo makes it harder to combat sexual abuse: http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/how-metoo-makes-it-harder-to-combat-sexual-abuse/21144

Corbyn didn’t spy for Stalinists, but he thinks like them: http://www.spiked-online.com/newsite/article/corbyn-didnt-spy-for-stalinists-but-he-thinks-like-them/21142

Welcome To Female Competition: Find A Reason The Pretty Girls Should Cover Up: http://www.advicegoddess.com/archives/2018/02/23/welcome_to_fema.html

Corny Cob’s Puny Denials: https://countrysquire.co.uk/2018/02/23/corny-cobs-puny-denials/

Universities serve themselves not their graduates: https://www.conservativewoman.co.uk/universities-serve-not-graduates/

Ebooks are not ‘stupid’ – they’re a revolution: https://www.theguardian.com/books/2018/feb/21/ebooks-are-not-stupid-theyre-a-revolution-erin-kelly

May doesn’t govern this country: http://commentcentral.co.uk/may-doesnt-govern-this-country/

Renewables have brought rising costs, unreliability and puny results: https://capx.co/renewables-have-brought-rising-costs-unreliability-and-puny-results/

Syracuse group hosts ‘nonbinary’ version of Vagina Monologues: https://www.campusreform.org/?ID=10558

High Wages Aren’t The Problem, Higher Wages Are: http://www.continentaltelegraph.com/2018/02/24/high-wages-arent-the-problem-higher-wages-are/

Using the Wrong Pronoun is not a Hate Crime: http://www.continentaltelegraph.com/2018/02/24/using-the-wrong-pronoun-is-not-a-hate-crime/

Jeremy Corbyn sneers at 30 years of Matt’s ‘genius’ cartoons: http://www.anorak.co.uk/448029/news/jeremy-corbyn-sneers-at-30-years-of-matts-genius-cartoons.html/

Off Guard: http://takimag.com/article/off_guard_theodore_dalrymple

The Behavioral Ecology of Male Violence: http://quillette.com/2018/02/24/behavioral-ecology-male-violence/

John McDonnell does really have to say this, doesn’t he?: https://www.adamsmith.org/blog/john-mcdonnell-does-really-have-to-say-this-doesnt-he?format=amp

It’s All Robert Reich’s Fault – That Decline in Trust in Government: http://www.continentaltelegraph.com/2018/02/23/its-all-robert-reichs-fault-that-decline-in-trust-in-government/

Tim Harford on Fifty Inventions That Shaped the Modern Economy: http://www.econtalk.org/archives/2017/11/tim_harford_on_1.html

The State takeover of all our bodies: https://www.conservativewoman.co.uk/state-takeover-bodies/

The Left’s double standard on the power of the media: https://capx.co/the-lefts-double-standard-on-the-power-of-the-media/

The Skeptical Optimist: Interview with Michael Shermer: http://quillette.com/2018/02/24/skeptical-optimist-interview-michael-shermer/

The Russian role in the nuclear winter theory: http://www.mattridley.co.ukhttp://www.rationaloptimist.com/blog/nuclear-winter/